Occasional newsletter of the NSW Branch of the Proportional Representation Society of Australia

LARGEST REMAINDER

(Not quite Quota Notes)

January 2010

In this issue

No. 7

- o Committee Meeting, 9 November 2009
- Membership 2010
- National PRSA executive
- Green Paper on Electoral Reform
- Future meetings

A happy new year to all our members and supporters.



Committee Meeting, 9 November 2009

At this meeting there was discussion about the Branch's proposed submission to the Federal Government's Green paper on electoral reform, and on the redrafting of the PRSA's rules for the conduct of a ballot.

Membership 2010

Subscriptions are now due if you are to be financial for the AGM. 12 months membership is \$20 and can be renewed through the Branch's website www.electoralreformaustralia.org or by mail.

National PRSA Executive

The result of the ballot for the PRSA National Executive:

- National President Bogey Musidlak
- Vice President John Pyke
- o Secretary Stephen Morey
- Treasurer Julie McCarron-Benson

There being no further nominations, all are declared elected unopposed.

Norman Cox Returning Officer

Congratulations to all!

Green Paper on Electoral Reform

The NSW Branch made a submission to the Green paper; it is submission No. 45 at <u>http://www.dpmc.gov.au/consultation/elect_re</u> <u>form/strengthening_democracy/submissions.c</u> <u>fm#subs</u>

The National PRSA's submission is No 98.

NSW Branch Vice-President Stephen Lesslie submitted a paper (No. 44) which you might also be interested to read. Note that Stephen's submission was a personal one and has not been endorsed by the PRSA (NSW).

National PRSA President, Bogey Musidlak, appeared before the Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters "To inquire into and report on: The conduct of the 2007 federal election and matters related thereto…" The Hansard transcript of that meeting can be read at <u>http://parlinfo.aph.gov.au/parlInfo/</u> <u>download/committees/commjnt/12548/toc_pd</u> <u>f/7298-3.pdf</u>

Future Meetings

The following dates in 2010 have been set for Committee Meetings:

February 1, May 10 (Annual General Meeting), August 9 and November 8, all Mondays at 7.30pm.

Anyone is welcome to attend. For details, please contact Susan Gregory at president@electoralreformaustralia.org or on 9181 5185 for the relevant information.

Comments and/or contributions are welcome: <u>president@electoralreformaustralia.org</u>, or PRSA (NSW Branch) 74 Thompson Street Drummoyne NSW 2047

PRSA NSW Branch officers

Susan Gregory – President Stephen Lesslie – Vice President Mark Rodowicz – Vice President Patrick Lesslie – Secretary/Treasurer